Menu Book now
  • Animal Fun

    Animal fun

    There is always work to be done on the farm

 

There’s always work to be done on the farm. And Schlattgut farm run by the Ledergerber family is no exception. Visitors of all ages can have fun on the farm above Herrliberg. Max and Filipp can tell you a thing or two about it!

 

Their mother has told them so much about it, and now they want to see it for themselves.
Julia Faulhaber, media officer at The Living Circle Group, and her husband Frank, a health scientist
at the University Children’s Hospital in Zurich, take their two sons, Max (8) and Filip (6), to Schlattgut farm above Herrliberg run by the Ledergerber family. The two boys have soon forgotten
their parents — the animals are all they are interested in. They also learn some amazing new facts.

 

ONE: Donkeys are not stubborn

On the contrary, they are extremely patient. Sina, Stella and Ben stand still and let themselves be groomed by the two boys, who give all they’ve got, brushing their coat for almost a quarter of an hour. The animals only complain when the two young hobby keepers leave the donkey compound, bellowing an obligatory “hee-haw”.

TWO: HENS ARE NOT STUPID

This is an experience for Filip above all. Farmer Domenik Ledergerber shows him the correct way to pick up a hen. Filip creeps up to the white hens on tiptoes. But they all fly away as soon as he gets near them. There are 160 hens at Schlattgut farm, pecking at the green grass, worms and seeds.

THREE: COWS CAN MOVE FAST

It is 4.45 in the afternoon, and the cows want to go home. You can hear them from a distance, mooing on the meadow. Cows are creatures of habit. So the Faulhaber family sets off to fetch the 29 Brown Swiss cows and one Jersey cow from the field, after carefully cordoning off the route. It is not long before the cows are safely home, with the astounded Faulhaber family trotting after them.

FOUR: MILK SQUIRTS OUT IMMEDIATELY

This is the moment the two boys have been waiting for: Under the expert eye of Peter Leder- gerber, they are allowed to milk the cows, which are standing calmly in their enclosure. First their teats have to be cleaned and activated, something that Filip particularly enjoys. As soon as the cow releases its natural hormone, the milk squirts out. Each cow can produce up to 40 to 50 litres per day.

FIVE: PEOPLE CAN PIG OUT, TOO

The cows devour the fresh hay the Faulhaber family gives them after milking them in the barn. And the two young farmers are famished too. They wolf down the dried meat, smoked sausage and boiled eggs from Schlattgut farm, served with freshly baked buns and bread rolls. This afternoon snack is followed by a sweet surprise: Rhubarb and strawberry ice cream from the farm. Some 1000 litres of it are sold in six varieties every year. The ice cream is also served at Restaurant Buech next door — prepared by Domenik Ledergerber himself. Next year, they plan to make yoghurt, quark and other delicacies from fresh farm milk. Max and Filip have also signed up again to help out on the farm.

 

Text: Reto Wilhelm

Photo: Anna-Tina Eberhard

The Living Circle

The Living Circle – is a hand-picked collection of first-class hotels and restaurants in incomparably beautiful locations, run by dedicated hosts. Rice, vegetables, fruit and a whole array of exquisite products – including wine, of course – is whisked fresh from our own farms directly to your table. That is how we define luxury. That is The Living Circle – luxury hotels fed by nature.

Menu Jetzt Buchen
  • Animal Fun

    Tierisch Spass

    Auf dem Bauernhof, da ist immer was los

 

Auf dem Bauernhof, da ist immer was los. Und bei Ledergerbers auf dem Schlattgut erst recht. Beim Bauernplausch für Gross und Klein geht's tierisch toll zu und her ob Herrliberg. Davon können Max und Filipp ein Lied singen!

 

Eigentlich wollten sie einfach mal einen Augenschein nehmen von diesem Betrieb, von dem Mami, die Medienverantwortliche der Living Circle Group, immer wieder berichtet hatte. Julia Faulhaber und ihr Mann Frank, von Hause aus Gesundheitswissenschaftler am Kinderspital Zürich, zeigen den beiden Söhnen den Bauernhof der Familie Ledergerber oberhalb von Herrliberg. Rasch sind die Eltern vergessen, ab sofort sind die Tiere die Hauptdarsteller. Und Max (8) und Filip (6) gewinnen erstaunliche Erkenntnisse.

 

ERSTENS: Esel sind nicht störrisch

Im Gegenteil, sie sind total geduldig. Lassen sich striegeln von den zwei Jungs, die Vollgas geben. Fast eine Viertelstunde lang wird das Fell von Sina, Stella und Ben gereinigt. Und sie halten still. Erst als die zwei willkommenen Nachwuchspfleger auf Zeit das Esels- gehege verlassen, kommt das obligate «I-aaaa» — aber dann lauthals.

Zweitens: Hühner sind nicht dumm

Das muss vor allem Filip erfahren. Bauer Domenik Ledergerber zeigt ihm, wie man ein Huhn korrekt in die Arme nimmt. Auf Zehenspitzen pirscht sich Filip ans weisse Huhn heran. Nur fliegt jedes weg, sobald er auch nur in seine Nähe kommt. 160 Hühner tummeln sich auf dem «Schlattgut» und picken im Freien Gras, Würmer und Körner.

Drittens: Kühe sind schnell

Es ist 16.45 Uhr. Die Kühe wollen nach Hause — von Weitem hört man sie auf der Weide muhen. Denn Kühe sind Gewohnheitstiere. Also holt Familie Faulhaber die 29 Brown-Swiss-Kühe und eine Jersey-Kuh ab — vorher muss die Route sorgsam mit Kuhdraht abgesperrt werden. Und dann geht’s los: Die Kühe sind rasch daheim, verwundert eilt die Familie Faulhaber hinterher.

Viertens: Die Milch fliesst sofort

Auf diesen Moment haben sich die zwei Jungs besonders gefreut: Sie dürfen — unter Anleitung von Vater Peter Ledergerber — die Kühe melken. Diese stehen seelenruhig in ihrer Box. Nun müssen die Zitzen gereinigt und aktiviert werden. Das tut Filip denn auch fürs Leben gern. Und sofort rinnt die Milch, wenn die Kuh ihr körpereigenes Hormon freisetzt. Bis zu 40 bis 50 Liter sind es pro Kuh und Tag.

Fünftens: Auch Menschen haben tierisch Hunger

Riesig ist der Kohldampf: bei den Kühen, als sie nach dem Melken im Stall von Familie Faulhaber mit frischem Heu gefüttert werden. Gross ist der Hunger bei den zwei Jungbauern. Der Zvieri mit Trockenfleisch, Schüblig und gekochten Eiern vom «Schlattgut», dazu frisch gebackener Zopf und Brötli, ist rasch ratzekahl verspeist. Zum Dessert dann noch die süsse Überraschung: Hofglacé — Rhabarber und Erdbeer. Rund 1000 Liter in sechs Sorten sind es im Jahr, die über die Theke gehen. Oder im Restaurant «Buech» nebenan serviert werden — von Domenik Ledergerber höchstpersönlich zubereitet. Nächstes Jahr sollen Joghurt, Quark und andere feine Dinge aus hoffrischer Milch dazukommen. Selbstverständlich haben sich Max und Filip auch bereits wieder angemeldet — für den Landdienst. 

 

Text: Reto Wilhelm

Photo: Anna-Tina Eberhard

The Living Circle

The Living Circle – ist eine handverlesene Kollektion von erstklassigen Hotels und Restaurants an den kompromisslos schönsten Standorten, geführt von leidenschaftlichen Gastgebern. Reis, Gemüse, Früchte, natürlich Wein und andere edle Gewächse – alles zaubern unsere eigenen Bauernhöfe gartenfrisch direkt auf Ihren Tisch. Das ist unsere Definition von Luxus. Das ist The Living Circle – luxury hotels fed by nature.